Register of the National Rail Heritage Collection

The Register is a Comprehensive Record of Significant New Zealand Rail Heritage Items

The full list of classified items on the Register is identified as the National Rail Heritage Collection and records significant New Zealand rail heritage items considered worthy of retention. 


The Register records a brief description and history of the stations and associated buildings considered by RHTNZ to be worthy of classification. It also includes a brief description of all bridges and tunnels listed in the collection, as well as a schedule of rolling stock and locomotives.  The balance of the Register comprises notes about other items within the collection, such as signal boxes, railway houses, workshops, windmills and communications technology. Many of these items are being assessed for classification.


Every attempt has been made to ensure accuracy, but at times the limited availability of historical information may have led to unintentional inaccuracies. We appreciate any comments or corrections that will improve the quality of information.  


Contact us at


List of Rail Heritage Items on the Register

Category A: 
Finest buildings in their category

Category B:
Notable buildings

Auckland Station (former - built 1930)

Blenheim Station
Christchurch Station (built 1960, demolished)
Dunedin Station
Greymouth Station
Moana Station
Ormondville Station
Pukerangi Station
Remuera Station
Ruru Station
Solway Station
Te Kuiti Station
Waverley Station
Wellington Station

Arthur’s Pass Station
Ashburton Station (demolished)
Carterton Station
Cass Station
Gisborne Station
Glenhope Station
Hundalee Station (relocated)
Inangahua Station
Inglewood Station
Invercargill Station
Kaiapoi Station (relocated)
Kaikoura Station
Kawakawa Station
Little River Station
Lower Hutt Station (now Western Hutt)
Matamau Station
Mataura Station
Middlemarch Station
Oamaru Station
Onehunga Station (relocated)
Otaki Station
Otikerama Station
Paekakariki Station
Pahiatua Station
Pahiatua Goods Shed
Picton Station
Plimmerton Station
Pukekohe Station
Rangiora Station
Reefton Station
Rotowaro Station (relocated)
Seddon Station
Shannon Station
Springfield Station
Thames Station
Waihi Station
Waitakerei Station (later Waitakere, relocated)
Wedderburn Station
Whangarei Station
Wingatui Station
Wingatui Signal Box